The Dukes of the Peerage of the United Kingdom

The Dukes

The Duke of Fife

Duke of Fife is a title in the Peerage of the United Kingdom, named after Fife in Scotland. The 1st Duke of Fife was the husband of Louise, Princess Royal and Duchess of Fife, the third child and eldest daughter of King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra.

There have been two creations of the title, the first in 1889 and the second in 1900, both in favour of Alexander Duff, 6th Earl Fife in the Peerage of Scotland and 1st Earl of Fife in the Peerage of the United Kingdom. The second creation by Queen Victoria allowed for the title to pass to the Duke’s daughters, as no male heirs were likely.

The Dukedom of Fife was the last dukedom created in the Peerage of the United Kingdom, except for those created for sons, or relatives of the Sovereign.

The family's current main residence is Elsick House near Stonehaven, The Mearns, in Scotland.

Dukes of Fife, First Creation (1889):

  • Alexander Duff, 1st Duke of Fife (1849-1912)

Dukes of Fife, Second Creation (1900):

  • Alexander Duff, 1st Duke of Fife (1849-1912)
  • Princess Alexandra, 2nd Duchess of Fife (1891-1959) James George Alexander Carnegie
  • 3rd Duke of Fife (b. 1929) Heir Apparent: David Charles Carnegie, Earl of Southesk (b. 1961) Lord Southesk's Heir Apparent: Charles Duff Carnegie, Lord Carnegie (b. 1989) 

Shipwrecked Duke of Fife

In December 1911, while sailing to Egypt, the 1st Duke of Fife and his family were shipwrecked off the coast of Morocco. Although they escaped unharmed, the Duke fell ill with pleurisy, probably contracted as a result of the shipwreck. He died at Aswan, Egypt in January 1912, and his elder daughter, Princess Alexandra, succeeded to his dukedom, becoming the Duchess of Fife and Countess of Macduff in her own right.